Industry Exchange

From April to June 2017, MaD supported four groups of Hong Kong architects / designers (KaCaMa, Kevin CHEUNG, HOUR25 and DOMAT) to research on sustainable design and social architecture in various Asian regions. Join Asia Exchange Programme Showcases, Community Screenings and International Assembly to hear their learning and reflections!


Teams
KaCaMa Design Lab

Co-founded by three graduates, Kay, Catherine and Match, from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2011, who specialize in reusing post-consumer waste materials. KaCaMa hope their product not only can delight people’s lives and instill eco-awareness in its users, but also can establish contact with local enterprises, handcraft men and local cultures. During their exchange trip in Japan, they have studied various cases related to sustainable design, such as Miyama in Fukuoka. This town has developed solar energy to bring social changes and develop a sustainable economy. KaCaMa also organized a mobile market in Japan to boost the cultural exchange with the Japanese through the Hong Kong hand-made salted-fish sauce.
http://www.kacama.hk

Kevin CHEUNG

Graduated from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University with major of Product Design. Kevin devotes himself in developing upcycling products and raising public’s eco-awareness. At the same time, he believes that designers have the ability and obligation to protect the environment in order to sustain the balance between the eco-system, economy and the society. He is good at turning the waste into attractive and durable artworks and products. During his exchange in Japan, he has been to the world’s first “Zero Waste” town, Kamikatsu in Tokushima, to experience the local green lifestyle. He has visited the local recyclable collection point that has classified the trash into 54 categories. In his trip, he also shared and exchanged the upcycling products with the residents.

www.kevin-cheung.com

DOMAT

Believing that architecture is a practice to improve living environments and should be accessible to everyone, DOMAT strives to accommodate people’s needs and serve those who do not normally have access to architectural services. The not-for-profit studio’s portfolio includes home modifications for subdivided-flats, a rural school, hygiene facilities for a rural school, and waste recycling facilities for rural areas. With their involvement, children in low-income families can concentrate on their studies, rural children have access to better education, hygiene and waste environments. They draw blueprints for better lives.

www.domat.hk

HOUR25 Production

HOUR25 Production operates like superheroes in movies–founded by a group of architects with busy day jobs, it ventures to expand time and space in the 25th hour and beyond. Versatile in their use of media and methods, the team explores the ever-changing city fabrics. From opening up public space with portable Lawn Runners, to promoting sustainability with City Bike Parking Devices, crafting communal spaces for different habitats and experimenting on co-housing, they respond to social situations with architectural ideas.
www.hour-25.com

業界交流

在2017年4月至6月,MaD資助了KaCaMa、張瑋晉、HOUR25及多磨建社四組香港設計師/建築師到多個亞洲地區考察當地的社會建築和永續設計。四個團隊將陸續在亞洲交流計劃展覽分享會、社區放映會、國際年會上分享考察途上的見聞與反思!


交流隊伍
KaCaMa Design Lab

於2011年由三位香港理工大學設計學院的畢業生陳韻淇(Kay)、孫嘉希(Catherine)和陳少華(Match)共同創立,擅長利用廢料加工製作,希望透過設計,為人們的生活帶來點綴,提升對環保的觸覺,並且能建立大家與當地企業、手工藝和當地文化的接觸。在日本交流期間,他們考察不同永續設計的案例,如日本三山市,當地利用太陽能改變社會模式,發展可持續經濟,更舉行了“流動單車市集”,透過自家設計的本地手工香草鹹魚醬與當地人進行文化交流。
http://www.kacama.hk

張瑋晉

畢業於香港理工大學設計系(產品設計),張瑋晉投入Upcycling產品開發,並透過各種渠道提高公眾的環保意識。 在創造產品的同時,他相信設計師有能力和責任保護環境,以可持續的態度平衡生態、經濟和社會三大支柱,惠澤社會。他擅長將一般人眼中的廢料蛻變成耐看、耐用的藝術品和產品。 在交流期間,他去到全日本首個對外宣佈實行“零垃圾”的地方-德島上勝町,體驗村民的零廢生活,他參觀了將廢物分成54類的回收站,期後他更將一些用香港垃圾製造的產品與當地人分享交換。
www.kevin-cheung.com

多磨建社

多磨建社深信建築能夠改善人的生活環境,應該惠及社會各個階層。他們以人的需要和感受出發,兼顧到平常沒有機會得到建築服務的社群。這個非牟利的建築工作室,致力改善基層社群的居住環境、設計和實踐農村學校、村校的衛生間和鄉村環保回收設施。他們的設計居於陝小居住環境的青少年集中學習空間,讓農村兒童能享有較好的教育及衛生環境, 畫出改善生活的藍圖。
www.domat.hk

HOUR25

HOUR25 Production有點像電影中的超級英雄--平日,他們是工作忙碌的建築師 ,在第25個小時之後,他們透過獨立項目,擴闊時間與空間。團隊涉足用多樣化的媒體,探索變化不斷的城市。例如可携式的“著草”開拓公共空間、方便單車停泊的“連泊”推動可持續的生活形式發展;他們亦為不同的居住環境創造共享空間,並研究共用住宅。他們以建築理念,積極回應社會的狀況。
www.hour-25.com