Programme 2: Our City / Social Architecture

How can architecture shape community space? What form will it take when blueprints begin with people’s lives?

Supported by our Asian Exchange Programme for creative industries practitioners, emerging architects DOMAT and HOUR25 Production travelled to Chengdu, Yongji and South Korea to research on cultural architecture and participatory design. Join this sharing of their fruitful experiences complemented by a special screening of Citizen Jane: Battle for the City, a documentary about reclaiming our public space.

Date: 2 Jul 2017 (Sun)
Time: 5:00 PM – 7:30 PM
Venue: Oi! (12 Oil Street, North Point)
Language: Cantonese
Capacity: 30

*Free for all. Pre-registration is required


Programmes
1. Exchange

Sharing by emerging architects DOMAT and HOUR25 Production

Sharing Guests
DOMAT
Believing that architecture is a practice to improve living environments and should be accessible to everyone, DOMAT strives to accommodate people’s needs and serve those who do not normally have access to architectural services. The not-for-profit studio’s portfolio includes home modifications for subdivided-flats, a rural school, hygiene facilities for a rural school, and waste recycling facilities for rural areas. With their involvement, children in low-income families can concentrate on their studies, rural children have access to better education, hygiene and waste environments. They draw blueprints for better lives.
HOUR25 Production
HOUR25 Production operates like superheroes in movies–founded by a group of architects with busy day jobs, it ventures to expand time and space in the 25th hour and beyond. Versatile in their use of media and methods, the team explores the ever-changing city fabrics. From opening up public space with portable Lawn Runners, to promoting sustainability with City Bike Parking Devices, crafting communal spaces for different habitats and experimenting on co-housing, they respond to social situations with architectural ideas.
2. Community Screening: Citizen Jane: Battle For The City
Director: Matt TYRNAUER

USA / 2016 / 92 min / In English with Chinese subtitles

In 1960 Jane JACOBS’ book The Death and Life of Great American Cities sent shockwaves through the architecture and planning worlds, with its exploration of the consequences of modern planners’ and architects’ reconfiguration of cities. JACOBS was also an activist, who was involved in fights in mid-century New York to stop ‘master builder’ Robert MOSES from running roughshod over the city. This film retraces the battles for the city as personified by JACOBS and MOSES, as urbanization moves to the very front of the global agenda. Many of the clues for formulating solutions to the dizzying array of urban issues can be found in JACOBS’ prescient text, and a close second look at her thinking and writing about cities is very much in order. This film sets out to examine the city of today though the lens of one of its greatest champions.


Note:

  • Free for all. Pre-registration is required

Register (Programme is full)


Community Outreach@MaD Festival 2017 is made possible with generous support from Create HK, funder of the Asian Exchange Programme for Creative Industries Practitioners and the scheme’s recipients’ community sharing, and The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, funder of the community screening.

Organizer Patron and Founding Sponsor
The Hong Kong Jockey Club Community Project Grant: Make a Difference School funded by
Programme Partners
       

Disclaimer: Create Hong Kong of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region provides funding support to the project only, and does not otherwise take part in the project. Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in these materials/events (or by members of the project team) are those of the project organizers only and do not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Communications and Creative Industries Branch of the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, Create Hong Kong, the CreateSmart Initiative Secretariat or the CreateSmart Initiative Vetting Committee.

節目2:我衛我城/社區建築

建築可以怎樣營造社區空間?如果由人們的生活出發去發展藍圖,會是怎樣的形式?

在過去數月,MaD Festival 2017“創意產業工作者亞洲交流計劃”支持新晉建築師多磨建社HOUR25 Production,分別到四川成都、山西永濟及南韓研習社會建築。現誠邀大家參與他們的旅程分享會,屆時更會放映紀錄片《真國民:我衛我城》,一起看看城市規劃師如何捍衛公共空間的使用權。

日期:2017年7月2日(日)
時間:下午5時至晚上7時30分
地點:油街實現(北角油街12號)
語言:廣東話
名額:30人

*費用全免,必須預先報名


節目
1. 對談

新晉建築師多磨建社HOUR25 Production分享他們到中國四川成都、山西泳濟及南韓的考察、交流之旅和對社會建築的心得

分享嘉賓
多磨建社
多磨建社深信建築能夠改善人的生活環境,應該惠及社會各個階層。他們以人的需要和感受出發,兼顧到平常沒有機會得到建築服務的社群。這個非牟利的建築工作室,致力改善基層社群的居住環境、設計和實踐農村學校、村校的衛生間和鄉村環保回收設施。他們的設計令居於陝小居住環境的青少年有集中的學習空間,讓農村兒童能享有較好的教育及衛生環境, 畫出改善生活的藍圖。
HOUR25 Production
HOUR25 Production有點像電影中的超級英雄-平日,他們是工作忙碌的建築師 ,在第25個小時之後,他們透過獨立項目,擴闊時間與空間。團隊涉足用多樣化的媒體,探索變化不斷的城市。例如可携式的「著草」開拓公共空間、方便單車停泊的「連泊」推動可持續的生活形式發展;他們亦為不同的居住環境創造共享空間,並研究共用住宅。他們以建築理念,積極回應社會的狀況。
2. 社區放映:《真國民:我衛我城》
導演:麥泰拿路

美國/2016/92 min/英語對白,中英文字幕

Jane JACOBS於1960年所著的《偉大城市的誕生與衰亡》橫空出世,書中探討現代規劃師和建築師策劃的都市發展和重整策略所引致的種種後果,震憾了整個建築界。其實JACOBS也曾是活躍積極的社運行動者,她於50年代奮力反抗當時的都市計畫泰斗Robert MOSES一意孤行的發展政策。影片裡這衛城之戰不僅紀錄了二人之間的鬥爭,其實亦是借古看今--皆因都市化經已成為全球最重要的議題之一。她當年寫下的文字早已為無數繁複的都市問題提供了各種解決線索,她對於城市的理念和主張更令人佩服。此片借古喻今,從一個城市反思整個世界。


註:

  • 費用全免,必須預先報名

馬上報名(名額已滿,暫停報名)


社區連結@MaD Festival 2017由香港特別行政區政府“創意香港” 贊助創意產業工作者亞洲交流計劃和獲資助工作者社區分享計劃,而社區放映由香港賽馬會慈善信託基金贊助。

主辦 始創贊助
香港賽馬會社區資助計劃–“創不同”學院捐助機構
節目伙伴
      

免責聲明:香港特別行政區政府創意香港僅為本項目提供資助,除此之外並無參與項目。在本刊物/活動內(或由項目小組成員)表達的任何意見、研究成果、結論或建議,均不代表香港特別行政區政府、商務及經濟發展局通訊及創意產業科、創意香港、創意智優計劃秘書處或創意智優計劃審核委員會的觀點。